Habits

Daily habits can make a difference in everyday life. I should know, I’ve done one before. My challenge was a plank challenge: 30 seconds of plank. That was easy. The next week: 45 seconds of plank. That was easy. Two weeks pass, now we are doing 1 minute 15 seconds. That was easy actually kind of hard. The differences were clear, though. Two mins 30 secs at the end felt like 1 min 15 secs did at the start. See, big difference. It wasn’t hard to stay with the habit, when you were constantly being reminded, but I only did one plank over Thanksgiving break! I would say the planks were a big success!


Sometimes when the weather was dull and drab outside and everyone was tired, a plank was something no one wanted to do. At least we could all agree! Having a habit really helped me in many ways, so I am going to have another one. I am going to try to get at least 30 minutes of exercise every day!


Oh, yes (scratches head) I guess I should mention THE PLANK CHALLENGE. It was your basic “whoever lasts longer” competition. Near the beginning, it was all pretty easy, and no one dropped out before 2 minutes 30 seconds. Then it started to get really hard once we were past what we had done before, and I dropped out 6th at 3 minutes 55 seconds; right before my friend, victor dropped (after celebrating when I dropped out). After a few minutes, it was down to the final four. Then, around the 6 minute mark, 4th place dropped out, and then there were three. We were at 9 minutes 30 seconds when I got to help. One of the contestants was going to drop out at 10 minutes and wanted me to tell them when that happened. Of course, I wasn’t going to let them just quit at ten. When there were 10 seconds left, I announced that there were 20 and when it had been ten minutes, I had him stay up till 10 mins 15 secs. Luckily, he wasn’t mad.


The Plank Challenge was down to the wire and there were only 2 contestants left, but they were still going strong at the 15 minute mark. One was jamming to music. I needed to know what that playlist was. They lasted so long, the period had ended and we still didn’t have a winner, so our teacher decided a tie was best (there had been 1 other call for a tie at 20 mins but it was rejected by the contestants). However, we had all survived past the 2 mins 30 secs mark, so you can see it had a big impact. Do you have any habits that you either practice currently or just ideas for one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *